Does the FOS Work for Us?

I have earlier praised the Financial Ombudsman Service for its very existence.

My thinking is that it will act as a check on creditor failures to observe the rules, and that findings would take into account these rules in dealing as ‘piggy in the middle’.

Well I’ve been in ‘the waiting room’ of the FOS now for over a year and I am far less certain of this. Even more important I am very concerned at the extent to which the debtor has still to fight to get a proper hearing.

I cannot give you full details of the cases involved, since to mention the companies could well bring those savage legal departments sniffing like the monsters in any one of a thousand science fiction films! I can say that the process of the FOS is wearing for the debtor.

That process is three-stage. More if you take the delays into account.

The queue does of course relate to the changes in the volume of work, and the time it takes to train up; no basic criticism over that since it has to take the banks’ unfairness on its shoulders. and we know there is plenty of that.

First stage of actual process is with the adjudicator. Here one is dealing with a new process, so in essence it is necessary to repeat the arguments you have given to make sure they are fully understood, together with one’s perceived faults in the bank or credit card company response.

If you don’t like that – and from my experience don’t expect to – you can ask for the adjudication to be reviewed. If you don’t like that you can request your case go to an actual Ombudsman. Each time you need to re-present your case to some extent.

Now I am sure many people are happy with their experiences at the FOS so I am not going to dismiss its work out of hand, but sometime this year I will be dealing with an actual Ombudsman and that will certainly tell me whether I still have praise for the process.

Any way, for the umpteenth time now I am having to prepare my response to what I consider an appalling adjudication which reads to me almost like a letter from one of the companies.

I plan to write more on the service, and on the whole process, here, in my book, and on my website.

Joseph Harris
Debt Control Man

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

